On May 22, 1931, seven men came together to charter the San Antonio (TX) Alumni Chapter (SW) of Kappa Alpha Psi. 


The chapter’s charter members are:

Dr. Joseph O. Aycock

Dr. B. DuBois Brown

Scott D. Foley

Clarence B. Friday

John W. Holland

John D. Lowery, Jr.

G.J. Sutton


For close to 90 years, the San Antonio Alumni Chapter has continued to be a great example of achievement. Not only within Kappa, but also for the great state of Texas and the Greater San Antonio area. Desiring to continue to “inspire service in the public interest,” one of the chapter’s shining jewels is The Kappa Kastle. Settled in one of San Antonio’s most historic African American neighborhoods, Denver Heights, the five bedroom, two bathroom residence at 1145 Virginia Boulevard is home to the Alamo City Nupes. The Kastle was built in 1916 and has been a part of Kappa history since it was purchased in 1980 by the late Brother William C. Gibbs, Jr. and donated to the San Antonio Alumni Chapter. Chapter meetings were previously held at 328 North Pine Street, home of the San Antonio Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta.


  • 18th oldest alumni chapter in Kappa

  • 3rd oldest chapter in the Southwestern Province

  • 3rd oldest chapter in Texas

  • 3rd oldest black greek lettered organization in San Antonio

  • Hosted the 1st Grand Chapter meeting held in the “Deep South”

  • 1st chapter in Texas to host a Grand Chapter meeting


  • Grand Chapter Officers

    • J.W. Holland, Province Polemarch, 1931 - 1933

  • Southwestern Province Officers

    • M.J. “Andy” Anderson, Province Senior Vice Polemarch, 1948 - 1949

    • Ashby Cowart, Jr.

    • Green Davis, Jr.

  • Elder Watson Diggs Award

    • LTC Samuel F. Sampson, 1999

  • Grand Chapter Meeting Host

    • 29th, 1939

  • Southwestern Province Council Meeting Host

    • 2nd, 1937

    • 12th, 1948

    • 37th, 1973

    • 70th, 2006

  • Southwestern Province Large Chapter of the Year

    • 2016 - 2017

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

1145 Virginia Blvd

San Antonio, TX 78203